Forest House is a beautiful 18th century Grade 2 listed building in the historic town of Coleford in the heart of the Forest of Dean.
It was home to the pioneering iron masters David Mushet and his son Robert from 1772-1891, from whom the Bessemer process originated. The house has been extended and sympathetically modernised but still retains many charming original features and a beautiful garden which can be enjoyed by all!
It was 'love at first sight' when Barbara and Simon Andersen first viewed the house and they became the proud new owners in March 2016.
Andersens, the restaurant, serves great home cooked food specialising in slow cooked meat dishes, extra matured 'Celtic Pride' steaks and fabulous fish and seafood dishes. It is now a firm favourite with residents and locals alike and it is advisable to book a table especially at the weekends.
The eight en-suite bedrooms are spacious and beautifully furnished and come complete with TV/ DVD players, hair dryers, complimentary hospitality trays and luxury Elemis toiletries.
The surrounding area of the Wye Vally has been designated an area of outstanding natural beauty and includes many attractions including Symonds Yat, Puzzlewood, Beechenhurst and the fabulous Sculpture trail, many family cycle trails, Clearwell Caves and the Dean Heritage Centre to name just a few. Tintern Abbey, Chepstow Castle and Chepstow Racecourse are all close by. Forest House is also well placed for guests attending weddings at the nearby Clearwell Castle.
Free parking is available on site and a secure cycle shed is available to store your bikes in overnight.
Or, telephone 01594 832 424 to book direct.